New: six-week online dharma study course

No comments

Right View – Wrong View – Self View – No View
What is the point of view in Buddhism? 

The Buddha is reported to have said that holding to any position whatsoever creates “a thicket of views, a wilderness of views, a contortion of views, a writhing of views, a fetter of views; it is accompanied by anguish, distress, misery, fever; it does not conduce to turning away from, nor to dispassion, stopping, calming, super-knowledge, awakening, nor to Nibbāna.” 
In spite of this statement, Right or Wise View is the first factor of the Noble Eightfold Path which leads to freedom, so clearly not all views are created equal. 
Buddhist teachings point to the understanding that we don’t see things the way they are; we see things the way we are. The 8th-century Tibetan master Padmasambhava recognised that “Changes in one’s train of thoughts produce corresponding changes in one’s conception of the external world. As a thing is viewed, so it appears.”  

This six-week online course offers an opportunity to explore how views form and inform every aspect of our lives, including our understanding of ourselves and the world. We will look at some of the different views of views within Buddhism, including Right View as the foundation of the path, the “fetter” of sakkāya-diṭṭhi or self-view, and Nibbāna as the transcending of all views.

The course is best suited to people who have sat at least one seven-day silent meditation retreat, but prior Buddhist study is not necessary as the course is oriented more to practical experience than academic study.

Each two-hour class will include a short dharma talk, some silent meditation practice, dyad (pairs) practice, and small group discussion.
During the six weeks of the course, you will be invited to maintain a regular sitting practice and keep a practice journal, to help inform the discussion during the meetings and on the online discussion board. Because this is a group learning process, participants are asked to make a commitment to attend all six sessions of the course, and to allow at least two hours a week for personal study and reflections to be shared with the group.
We will use Zoom for the online meetings, and the Canvas online learning platform to access course materials, recordings, and discussion boards. A link to the Canvas course will be sent to you a week or so before the course starts.

Feel free to contact Jill if you have any questions about this. 

Times and dates: 

Option 1 SUNDAY MORNINGS 20 June – Sunday 25 July 
Auckland NZT 10:30-12:30 a.m.
Sydney AEST 8:30-10:30 a.m.
Singapore SGT 6:30-8:30 a.m.
New York EDT 6:30 pm-8:30 p.m. Saturday
San Francisco PDT 3:30 pm-5:30 p.m. Saturday

Option 2 SUNDAY EVENINGS 20 June – Sunday 25 July
Auckland NZT 7:00-9:00 p.m.
Sydney AEST 5:00-7:00 p.m.
Singapore SGT 3:00-5:00 p.m.
London BST 8:00-10:00 a.m.

Please confirm your time-zone or check other time-zones here: https://www.timeanddate.com/wo…

Teacher: Jill Shepherd http://jill0shepherd-insightmeditation.com

Cost for all six sessions: $120 + dana*  

Register here

NOTE: 50% of the registration fee will be contributed to Blue Mountains Insight Meditation Centre, to help support their recovery from a year of low income due to Covid-19.

* In keeping with Buddhist tradition, the teachings are offered on a dana basis which means the teacher is not paid to offer this workshop.  Instead, they rely on the generosity of the participants to help them continue to share their teachings with others, and there will be an opportunity at the end of each class to offer donations to support their ongoing teaching.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s