2019-08-23 nine-day retreat – Freedom Here and Now

This nine-day retreat provides an opportunity to explore different aspects of the Buddha’s teachings on Nibbana, also translated as Awakening, Enlightenment, Liberation, or Freedom. The freedom that is being pointed to here includes freedom from afflictive states such as anger, fear, sadness, greed; and freedom to live with more ease, happiness, and authenticity. We will use a variety of practices from the Four Foundations of Mindfulness, alongside the four brahmavihara heart practices of kindness, compassion, joy, and equanimity, to directly experience these different aspects of freedom for ourselves.

Talks and guided meditations from the whole retreat here: Dharma Seed

2019-08-24 Sila or ethical conduct as an aspect of generosity 41 mins

An overview of the five training precepts in their positive and negative expressions, and how the commitment to ethical conduct is a form of generosity to oneself and others

2019-08-25 Befriending the Mind 51 mins

An exploration of ways that we commonly struggle with our mental activity, how wisdom and compassion can help release the struggle through practising with the Third Establishment of Mindfulness, Mindfulness of the Mind, and understanding the three characteristics of anicca-dukkha-anatta

2019-08-26 The five hindrances, with a focus on desire for sense pleasures 43 mins

An overview of what gets in the way of freedom, namely the five hindrances, with a focus on the first one, desire for sense pleasures

2019-08-27 Five Hindrances part 2 – aversion, and the antidote of compassion 46 mins

Continuing the exploration of the five hindrances, focusing on ill will or aversion, and how cultivating compassion is both a protection and an antidote to aversion arising

2019-08-28 Impermanence and death 48 mins

Exploring the universal characteristic of anicca-impermanence in terms of the body, and beginning to contemplate our own mortality as a way to gradually release fear of death

2019-08-29 Sukha and mudita – appreciative joy 43 mins

An exploration of how the overall development of the practice is from dukkha (unsatisfactoriness, stress, distress) to sukha (ease, happiness and contentment) and how the brahmavihara practice of mudita or appreciative joy can support this shift

2019-08-30 Seven Factors of Awakening 50 mins

An overview of the Seven Factors of Awakening, and how to navigate some of the challenges that can be experienced when we first start to experience these more skilful mental qualities

labyrinth view


%d bloggers like this: